2019 in Review: Reaching My Limits

I’ll be honest, I’m glad 2019 is over. It’s not that I can close it like a book and shelve it, pretending it never existed. While marking years and days is mostly a human convention, the changing of the calendar year often gives one the opportunity to start anew, often with renewed vigor and determination that lasts at least until the first two months of the year. Of course, no New Year’s Resolution list is really complete without taking a look back at the past 12 months, something I’d rather not but must do.

2019 started normally enough with the usual festivities intermixed with the whirlwind activities that fill the first two or three months of the year. And then April came, shaking my world literally and figuratively. It brought the strongest earthquake I remember experiencing in my more than 30 years of existence and it made me acutely aware of how terribly ill-prepared we are for such calamities.

It was easy enough to forget that earthquake thanks to the premiere of Marvel’s Avengers: Endgame just a few days later. As a comic book geek, it was the climax of years of building up plots and conspiracy theories. To say that I was excited would probably be an understatement (even if Iron Fist wouldn’t be part of that larger cinematic universe). On a side note, the anticipation did get the creative juices flowing for a while. Little did I know that it wouldn’t last long.

May came and went in a flurry, with my sister’s XXth birthday being the highlight of the month. And then June happened and that was when things went south. What followed was practically four months of commutes, guilt, failure, and fatigue. I had hoped that, come October, I would have already recovered to get back into my regular cadence. As the lack of output since then proved, it was definitely not the case.

Of course, 2019 wasn’t all that bad. In fact, the downturns served to better highlight the bright moments. Despite and in spite of everything that has happened, I can still say that we’re living life comfortably. I am still blessed with family, friends, colleagues, resources, and life. Ironically, that also makes me feel a tad more guilty for continuing to squander all of that.

I refuse to let that be the end, though. 2019 really showed me my limits, the chinks in my armor, and the flaws in my plans. I would be lying if I denied there were times when I did think of giving up for good. But now 2019 is over and it may simply be a human convention, but I’m ready to face 2020, hopefully, stronger and wiser than before.


One thought on “2019 in Review: Reaching My Limits

  1. Hi Juan Carlos,

    I am Dony from Boox ((Maybe you have never heard about this company?)
    Anyway, we produce e-ink tablet/ ereader backed by Android platform. And this is a review inquiry.

    Very glad to meet you in your blog, since I can’t find any contact info among the internet, I leave a comment under this post.Apologize if that bothers you.

    Knowing that you’re good at tech review & sketch artwork, I would like to invite you to have a look at our new product Note air:https://www.boox.com/noteair/

    If you are interested in doing so, please let me know. I am arranging the review unit.

    Maybe you’re overwhelming by a new release product since you are doing great work in Slashgear. It’s totally acceptable and understanding if you want to postpone the cooperation.

    Here are some coverages for you to know more about us.
    Nova2 review by Geekdad :https://geekdad.com/2020/07/geekdad-review-boox-nova-2-e-ink-tablet/
    Note2 review by MagPC:https://pcmag.com/reviews/onyx-boox-note2
    Nova2 review by Gizmodo:https://gizmodo.com/i-unabashedly-love-this-android-e-ink-tablet-1844727465

    Thank you for your time:) If you are interested in this cooperation, you can find me at dony@onyx-international.com or you want to review the note air but you won’t have time until after the new year, it also a good news for me:)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.