April’s no Fool: Almost The Big One

Yep, another late blog post. It would be nice if all months ended on a weekend but, c’est la vie! The month started with very little incident. It was almost boring. For better or worse, it was apparently just the calm before the storm. 

If I were to describe April, it would be earth-shattering, both literally and figuratively. The literal part came on April 22 when the earth shook our little corner of the world. It’s probably not as strong other earthquakes that rocked the country in the past, but it was the biggest one in our area in recent memory. It was also my biggest one since the 90s. It was a bit of a wake up call on how unprepared we are for the so-called Big One. To this day, I’m still on guard whether what I’m experiencing is just some major dizziness or if it’s the real deal. 

The highlight of the month came in the days that followed. A relative I haven’t seen since I was a baby surprised us with a visit. And then there was the fourth and final Avengers film. No spoilers from me, sorry. Along with the movie came the preparation for it, which involved my first ever Amazon purchase. Yep, that’s a bag and a shield! Functional and fashionable! OK, it’s a bit attention-grabbing when used on normal occasions, but that’s the point, right? It’s bigger than I expected but, hey, now my problem is figuring out what to put rather than deciding what to leave behind. 

April has also been pretty busy with my part-time gig in KDE. That deserves a whole different post but, suffice it to say, I have a ton of work ahead. Well beyond my alloted time. But who says I can’t work on it beyond that. At least the planning and scheming will all be done by then and all that’s left will be execution. Hopefully, that is. 


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.